Board of Directors

Special Olympics' volunteer Board of Directors determines international policies. The board is composed of business and sport leaders, professional athletes, educators and experts in intellectual disabilities from around the world.

His Highness Sayyid Faisal Bin Turki Al Said

IAC Middle East North Africa Representative; Chairman, Special Olympics Oman

Ernest Z. Bower

President & CEO, Bower Group Asia

Dr. David Braddock

Executive Director, Coleman Institute for Cognitive Disabilities

Ambassador Nicholas Burns

Professor of the Practice of Diplomacy and International Politics, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

Stephen M. Carter

Managing Partner, Larkspur Holdings LLLP

Nadia Comaneci

Olympic Gymnastics Gold Medalist

Bart Conner

Olympic Gymnastics Gold Medalist 

Kim Byeong Deok

Vice Executive Chairman, Special Olympics Korea

Elisabeth Dykens

Director, Vanderbilt Kennedy Center for Research on Human Development

Yolanda Eleta de Varela

President, Special Olympics Panama

Anne Finucane

Global Strategy and Marketing Officer, Bank of America

Ambassador Luis Gallegos

Former Ambassador from Ecuador to the United States; Chairman, Global UN Partnership for Inclusive Information and Communication Technologies; President, International Rehabilitation Foundation

Kathy Gibson

CEO, Special Olympics New Zealand

Benjamin Haack

Special Olympics Athlete, Australia

Scott Hamilton

Sports Broadcaster; Olympic Figure Skating Gold Medalist

Nils Kastberg

Regional Director for Latin America and the Caribbean, UNICEF

Muhtar Kent

Chairman & CEO, The Coca-Cola Company

Ronak Lakhani

General Secretary, Special Olympics Pakistan

Ray Lane

Managing Partner, GreatPoint Ventures; Strategic Advisor, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers

Li Ruigang

Founding Chairman of CMC Capital Partners and CMC Holdings Limited

Larry Lucchino

President & CEO, Boston Red Sox

Glenn Lyon

President & CEO, Finish Line

Peter Mazunda

Board Chair, Special Olympics Malawi

Georgia Milton-Sheats

CEO, Special Olympics Georgia

Katie Burke Mitic

Digital Technology Entrepreneur

Dikembe Mutombo

President & CEO, The Dikembe Mutombo Foundation; Former NBA Player

Hon. Na Kyung Won

Chair, Special Olympics Korea; Congresswoman, Korean National Assembly

Denis O’Brien

Chairman & Owner, Communicorp

Samuel Perkins

NBA Player Consultant; Olympic Basketball Gold Medalist

Monica Rivero

Chair, Special Olympics Bolivia

Eleni Rossides

National Director, Special Olympics Cyprus

Kim Samuel

President, The Samuel Family Foundation

Bobby Shriver

Activist; Attorney

Wing-Kun Tam

Past President, International Association of Lions Clubs

Hamdi Ulukaya

CEO, Chobani

Natalia Vodianova

Model; Philanthropist; Film Actress

Matthew Williams

Chair, Special Olympics Global Athlete Congress

Vanessa Williams

Actress; Recording Artist

Yang Lan

Founding Chairperson, Sun Culture Media Group and Sun Culture Foundation; Journalist; Philanthropist

Yao Ming

Chairman, Shanghai Sharks Basketball Club; Founder of the Yao Foundation